Burnt Eggs

After this Friday, I will have worked 19 days in a row ( with emphasis on the “the in a row”).  Why? Well, Monday-Friday is the regular work week. However I’m also part of an 6-week animal study which requires administering supplements every day. The past two weekends were my work shifts.

Besides working more than two weeks straight, within the work week I’ve put in a solid 50 hours of work (yup, basically five 10-hour days and then some on the weekends).

At this point I’m…well…burnt out. 😛

Granted at any other job 1) I would have been eligible for some serious overtime or 2) I would gotten the next two weeks off. But because I’m a PhD student, I’m not eligible for those benefits. In fact, it’s pretty much expected I put this amount of effort in. Honestly, it wouldn’t be that bad except for how I’ve noticed how I’ve been affected by it.

How two weeks of work effects me:

1. No amount of caffeine would help the exhaustion.

2. I’m a bit more irritable especially in the evening.

3. I’ve ignored taking care of myself.

Out of these three, the last one is the more disturbing one to me because it is not just a physical thing but a mental one too. This past week, my mind has felt frazzled.

So this week I learned of the the importance of meditation.

I’m not talking about sitting down in one spot and repeating a mantra until zen is reached. In fact, when I meditate I’m still working and hustling about.

Rather I meditate on the good things.

I think about all the past victories I’ve had and remind myself of how blessed I am. I remind myself of my growth as a person and how much better I am now because of it.

I’ve found this mindset refreshes me mentally. I feel more energized and ready to take on what’s ahead. Although I’m exhausted, I know I’m going to get through this season and I’ll be better off because of it.

Physically, I’ve noticed I haven’t been eating too well (which may contribute to my lethargy) and I’ve skipped out on pore strips and face masks for like a month.

Not to mention I haven’t cut my hair in the past six months.

Granted the hair cut can wait a little for “back to school” to cut off the summer damage.But after doing some beauty stuff today, I’m feeling much better about myself.

Now to have some good food: red beans and rice and tiramisu! ^_^

-Sabrina

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

